Friday, August 20, 2010

We left Maine at 1 o'clock on Wednesday.  We had planned to leave earlier than that, but due to a little traffic (and getting just a tiny bit lost while trying to find post cards) we were off a bit later than anticipated.  Honestly, there isn't much to say about the drive other than Connecticut, Massachusetts, and especially New Jersey people should probably all have their licenses revoked and be taught to drive in another state which understands the rules of the road (for example: staying in your own lane while driving on a highway). 
The drive really wasn't as awful as I was expecting.  We made it from Maine, through New Hampshire, to Connecticut, then New York (avoiding the city as it was 5 pm and we most likely wouldn't enjoy that kind of traffic).  After New York came dreaded New Jersey.  I've heard that driving in New Jersey was bad, and in Rhode Island we have our share of people from New Jersey.  Now I'm not saying that all New Jersey drivers are bad - I know a few of them, and I don't want to make anyone mad, so let's just say that any New Jersey driver that I know personally, you're ok with me!  The rest of them...not so much.  I'm sure New Jersey has a few pretty parts...the picture in the upper left hand corner was taken in Trenton or Princeton (I don't know, it's all blurring together at this point).  However, it's difficult to really appreciate the scenery when you're trying to avoid a car rocketing at 90 mph.  I would just like to know where all of the police are in New Jersey!!!  I don't think we saw a single car pulled over on the way...but I digress...
I think I took over driving in the evening on Wednesday, and kept driving until 12:45.  Brent had tried to get some sleep before, and I was getting a bit too sleepy to drive, so I pulled into some parking lot in Virginia and we had a good 3 hour nap in the car.  Next thing I know, Brent woke up at 6:30 and I got in the passenger seat.  After that, I have no idea how, but we were in North Carolina.  My sense of geography has been so messed up by this trip, I have no idea which state came first, second, etc.  All I know is that we passed through a bunch and ended up in Florida.
Now I am a person who enjoys a good shower, just ask my sister Meg (she pays the water bill at the house). I never go a day without showering unless I'm ill or unable (having surgery did not keep me from washing my hair).  On Tuesday, I showered around 5 pm.  I was then in the car all day wednesday without a shower. By Thursday, I was near death.  I began to look forward not to the beaches or the sights in Florida, but the clean and warm shower that I would get as soon as we arrived.  And let me tell you...it was glorious.  I don't remember the last time I enjoyed a shower that much.  I almost posted it on facebook, but I was too busy taking it all in.
Brent's sister was so accommodating, she fed us, gave us some wine, and I got to sleep in Brent's niece's bedroom.  It was pink and warm and inviting and I slept SO well.  Until I got a random wrong number call at 4:30 in the morning from someone yelling "Grandma! Grandma you have to talk louder I can't hear you!!!"
Yes.  I got that call at 4:30 in the morning, and I immediately hung up.  I hope that guy's grandma is okay.
Florida so far is just amazing.  We haven't left Brent's sister's backyard, but I've already seen more wildlife than I usually see in a Zoo in upstate New York.  There was an alligator!!!  And the birds are amazing.  The cranes let you just walk right up to them.  And DEER!  The deer are huge and so pretty.  I love it here, except for the humidity.  While walking outside I can't tell if I'm sweating or if it's just so humid that the moisture in the air is just deciding to cling to me.  Either way, it's uncomfortable, but it's hard to really notice it when you have such amazing scenery.  I can't wait to get more pictures!

No comments:

Post a Comment